Cant Figure It Out!! - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-11-2010, 08:15 PM Thread Starter
 
Falco21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Cant Figure It Out!!

So i just purchased a 2005 PBM GTO M6 and I absolutely love it. Well ive had it for about a month now but i just got around to posting on the forum. Anyways...everything was perfect until three days ago. I was with my g/f going to the movies when i noticed my car saying ABS fault. I couldn't figure out why. As i pulled into the parking lot, Air Bag Failure appeared on the dash followed by the speedometer and all the gauges dropping to zero while still driving. I parked the car and shut it off and tried to start it again, the car would not start. After the movie I went back out to the car and again nothing, i got it jumped and i managed to get it back home. The next day i drove it over to an excellent body shop near my house and while i was driving it began doing the same thing although this time it was saying Check Alternator as well. I had the alternator replaced with a 140 amp over the 60 amp that was originally in it. The car ran perfect and i drove back home. The following day, the car did the same thing as before, i drove it back to the shop where they did a detailed electrical scan of the entire vehicle to figure out what was wrong with it. They came to see that the wire running from the alternator was shot and i needed to re run the wire. I had it done and the car was working perfect again. Now it still is doing the same thing!!! i cant figure out what is going on!!! and its extremely frustrating!! im sorry for the long thread but i wanted to see if anyone had any input for my situation...im taking it to the shop tomorrow to see what they say...how frustrating
Falco21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-11-2010, 09:04 PM
 
Bluegoat05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: northern UT
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
have you had any work done to the car before this happened, like any welding? because it may have fried the computer.. where did you buy it? have you taken it back to the dealer? sorry to hear about that

straight piped cat back, JBA shortys, JBA wires, AEM ca, and 421 slp tune
Bluegoat05 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-11-2010, 09:12 PM Thread Starter
 
Falco21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
no welding done that i know of...i contacted the dealer and since we were charged to re run the wire from the alternator and were told the problem was fixed and it really isn't, the shop is gonna look into it again and fix it...of course if its a major computer problem they are gonna charge us, so if thats the case were gonna take it right back to the dealer
Falco21 is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-11-2010, 09:26 PM
 
Bluegoat05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: northern UT
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ya i dont know what kind of person you are and i have a hard time doin this my self but you would be amazed what they'll do if you tell them to have the car back and cause a big stink about it.. i mean you have only had it a month if your shop cant fix it i would take it back to the dealer and make em work with ya..

straight piped cat back, JBA shortys, JBA wires, AEM ca, and 421 slp tune
Bluegoat05 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-11-2010, 09:31 PM Thread Starter
 
Falco21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
yea i think thats what im gonna do...i mean i cant figure out what could possibly be wrong with it...i think your right the best thing to do is take it back to the dealer
Falco21 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-11-2010, 10:27 PM
 
jetstang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 3,376
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Same wire fried again, because of something else is shorted out and not showing up in the codes. Take it back to the same shop and let them try again, as it wasn't fixed the first time. You have a short.

Burning rubber since 1982!!
My photobucket, lots of dif car pics.
http://s411.photobucket.com/home/jetstang
jetstang is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-12-2010, 11:29 AM
 
Bluegoat05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: northern UT
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
yes very valid point by jetstang its very hard for a shop to figure out the problem if you take it to a different shop each time because they dont know exactly whats been done.. good luck to ya

straight piped cat back, JBA shortys, JBA wires, AEM ca, and 421 slp tune
Bluegoat05 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-12-2010, 12:43 PM Thread Starter
 
Falco21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
well i dropped it off at the shop early this morning and they are gonna find out what the problem is and fix it for me....so far they found out that the same wire they replaced shorted out again...so now their looking for whats causing the short...i will let you guys know what they say when i find out...thanx for the input
Falco21 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-12-2010, 12:44 PM Thread Starter
 
Falco21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
looks like you were right Jetstang....will update you as im updated
Falco21 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-12-2010, 03:38 PM Thread Starter
 
Falco21's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
well just got news that my girl is ready....apparantly the wire that was re installed by the mechanic was installed wrong and it just short out again....they claim that they have been running the car on and off all day and nothing is malfunctioning and the car is running perfect like before....im gonna see if it has the problem still when i pick it up and for a couple of days, but they assure me it will not happen again...well i can assure them if it doesnt happen again i wont ever be going back...lol...time to find a new shop lol
Falco21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help me figure this out MikeTheDiabetic Engine Discussions 15 04-09-2010 08:32 AM
help me figure this out guys 6lkl6l The Lounge 21 02-28-2007 03:42 PM
Trying to figure things out... ChiefyGTO Engine Discussions 1 11-18-2006 12:01 PM
Go Figure fergyflyer The Lounge 3 06-10-2006 11:12 PM
Trying to figure this out .... Vedli 2004-2006 GTO General Discussion 12 12-03-2005 07:47 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome