Did the factory put in Mobil One? - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-01-2004, 08:16 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Did the factory put in Mobil One?

Hey guys- I bought an '04 in Sept. and when I asked the dealer if the engine came with Mobil One from the factory he said yes, but you know how dealers can say anything you want to hear. I know the Vette comes with it and since it's due to be changed before winter storage thought I'd ask somebody who knows. Didn't see any M1 sticker under the hood. Thanks for any advice, and NO the car isn't brown!!!
the UPS guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-01-2004, 08:55 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ames, IA
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to Whiteshadow
I don't see why the factory wouldn't put Mobil 1 in the motor. It's basically the same LS1 engine as in the Vette, so I'm almost positive it is Mobil 1.
Whiteshadow is offline  
post #3 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-01-2004, 11:35 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
When I picked up my GTO I was told there was standard GM oil in the car. I also didn't have a mobil 1 sticker anywhere. My first order of business was to change the oil to Red Line full synthetic. I've roadraced motorcycles for many years and seen dramatic results from the use of Red Line oil. My race bikes picked up 3 to 6 HP on the dyno just from the different oil. I'm a believer in the stuff. At $7.50 a quart you have to be, but it is money well spent.
roadracer is offline  
 
post #4 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-01-2004, 04:09 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
only vettes coming w/ mobil 1

you be on dino
westell is offline  
post #5 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-02-2004, 05:05 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I too will switch to Mobile One very soon. If I was rich I would do it tomorow. Just hit 1500 miles!
MaxHax is offline  
post #6 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-02-2004, 10:09 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
switched at 500 miles. Go ahead and put in a magnetic drain plug to get the slivers and sludge out. some put a magnet on the oil filter.
westell is offline  
post #7 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-02-2004, 10:37 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'm running regular 5W-50 mineral oil for the first two 3000 mile oil changes, then switching to Mobil One.
Groucho is offline  
post #8 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-02-2004, 03:09 PM
JWC
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The owner's manual says it takes 6.5 quarts of oil with a filter change.

I put in 6 quarts (Mobil 1) and checked it after a short run. It was right on the mark.

When I got the car from the dealer, the oil level was above the full mark, so it probably had 6.5 quarts in it.
JWC is offline  
post #9 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-03-2004, 07:50 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Mobil 1

For some reason they didn't put mobil 1 in the
GTO only in the Vette.
I just had my second oil change & had them put in Mobil one.
They told me not to do it on the the 1st change, but it was ok
to do after that.
Monte is offline  
post #10 of 20 (permalink) Old 11-03-2004, 09:19 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
people were complaining to much about the price of the oil change, that is why the GTO has regular oil in it.

When they put the 320 horse SS Camaro out, they ran Mobil-1.

Synethic is all hype. Had a vehicle in the dealer the other day. 500K miles on it. 4.3L V-6 Astro van. Reseal the top part of the motor. Cylinder walls, looked brand new, crosshatch still intact.
wick is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome