Do I need a NEW CLUTCH ? - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-29-2007, 09:35 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Do I need a NEW CLUTCH ?

Reason I ask is while the car is not running you can go thru the gears w/o using clutch, also while driving you can shift with no use of the clutch and sometimes after diving for a while you can't get the car to go into gear. Then when I return home the car has a burnt odor coming from that area. I've also had the car in the shop for tranny problems where the dealer did everything but replace the tranny. Any thought's or similar problem's ?

Last edited by Dragon 32; 01-29-2007 at 11:10 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-29-2007, 03:19 PM

lol I'm no expert...but that sounds pretty freakin bad
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-29-2007, 03:49 PM Thread Starter

Well, Guess what ? I just picked it up from the Dealer and they said Clutch and Tranny were fine no Problem's Found. Go figure that one.

post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 01-29-2007, 03:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragon 32 View Post
Reason I ask is while the car is not running you can go thru the gears w/o using clutch, also while driving you can shift with no use of the clutch and sometimes after diving for a while you can't get the car to go into gear. Then when I return home the car has a burnt odor coming from that area. I've also had the car in the shop for tranny problems where the dealer did everything but replace the tranny. Any thought's or similar problem's ?
Here's my take:

Shifting with no clutch when not running: That's OK. I've rowed through the gears in a bunch of cars when they're parked. Usually have to push the pedal once to get things going, but once every blue moon you're able to do it without.