ECU "relearn" - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-17-2005, 10:00 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
ECU "relearn"

How long does it take the ECU to "relearn" after installing a CAI ?
gameover is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-17-2005, 10:05 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
A while, you can reset it by putting the key in the run position and pull the red fuse in the engine bay fuse box for about 30 sec.
AmesGTO is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-17-2005, 11:09 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Can't I just disconnect the battery?
gameover is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-17-2005, 11:16 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gameover
Can't I just disconnect the battery?
If the key isn't in the run position disconnecting the battery won't get the PCM to reset what it has "learned". You can put the key in run and disconnect the battery, but pulling the red fuse is much easier.
AmesGTO is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-17-2005, 12:53 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 358
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
AmesGTO,

Thanks for the info!
gameover is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-17-2005, 12:59 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,473
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Sooo, kiddees...the ECU or PCM will not relearn a CAI PDQ, if not ASAP. If not, you're SOL, and that's decidedly NFG.
Groucho is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-17-2005, 02:11 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
i dont understand this computer stuff, will it or will it not learn to adjust for the extra air flow?
ouijaguy is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-17-2005, 02:16 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I don't know what Groucho is saying either. The Aussies do the red fuse re-learn procedure a lot (at least that's what I've read). Good for a little performance boost before drving hard.
AmesGTO is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-17-2005, 04:51 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
will this work on the new LS2 engine? I have a custom intake that allows more air than the K&N and the NewEra, when we were testing it the ECU/PCM sensed the extra air and just started dumping in extra fuel to make up for the extra air. Does this somewhat work inplace of a tune until one can be proformed?
Braman'sGTO is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-17-2005, 04:56 PM
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Braman'sGTO
will this work on the new LS2 engine? I have a custom intake that allows more air than the K&N and the NewEra, when we were testing it the ECU/PCM sensed the extra air and just started dumping in extra fuel to make up for the extra air. Does this somewhat work inplace of a tune until one can be proformed?
It seems to be a pretty universal thing for GM so I'd guess it will work on an LS2. The red fuse part might be 04 only I don't know (it's really just an easy way to kill power to the PCM only). But the put the key in run and unhook the battery is very universal to GM.

It's not going to be anything nearly as good as a tune. I'd think of it more like getting rid of the cars bad habits.

I read a lot about this on the Aussie boards a year ago. A guy also put up a page about it here: http://www.mytired.com/cars/index.htm?page=car_rset.htm

Last edited by AmesGTO; 05-17-2005 at 04:59 PM.
AmesGTO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome