How to replace brakes - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-01-2012, 11:46 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Clarkesville, Ga
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Send a message via MSN to Gto-noob Send a message via Skype™ to Gto-noob
How to replace brakes

It would be awesome if someone could give me a guide to change brake pads myself. i heard it is rather easy and i was hoping i could do it myself and save some many. would be a huge help!!
Gto-noob is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-01-2012, 03:23 PM
Former Moderator
 
svede1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 4,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Garage
It's so easy. . . even a cave man could do it. It's been covered many times in many places. Once you do one wheel you'll go "duh". You need a large C clamp or even better yet get a Harbor Freight disc brake kit. You use either to push the caliper pistons back in so you can get the "thicker than used" new pads over the rotors. That, a couple of wrenches and a jack stand

How To Change Your Brake Pads - Edmunds.com

2004 Blk/Rd M6
6.3 litre LS1

Built and tuned by svede
svede1212 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-02-2012, 06:20 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Clarkesville, Ga
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Send a message via MSN to Gto-noob Send a message via Skype™ to Gto-noob
thanks soo much bro im going to get right on nit
Gto-noob is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 10:48 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Charlottesville VA
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
So I am in the same boat here finally changing out the brakes. I have an 05. I read that I need to replace the "torque to yield bolts" that hold the calipers in place with new bolts & washers. Is this something that really needs to be replaced every time you remove the calipers or is this just a revenue generating thing?
I am going with DBA 4000 t3 slotted rotors with Hawk HP ceramic pads if that makes a difference.
C'VilleGTO is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-16-2012, 08:49 AM
Super Moderator
 
6QTS11OZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Where the women are scarce and the sheep are scared. So. Cali
Posts: 2,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by C'VilleGTO View Post
So I am in the same boat here finally changing out the brakes. I have an 05. I read that I need to replace the "torque to yield bolts" that hold the calipers in place with new bolts & washers. Is this something that really needs to be replaced every time you remove the calipers or is this just a revenue generating thing?
I am going with DBA 4000 t3 slotted rotors with Hawk HP ceramic pads if that makes a difference.
I've changed out hundreds of pads and never replaced those bolts on any car I've owned or worked on and haven't had any problems in almost 30 years of changing pads.

~I'm ya huckleberry~
~516rwhp/500rwtq~

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yC11NCGTEvI
6QTS11OZ is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-16-2012, 09:18 AM
 
jpalamar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boyertown, PA
Posts: 3,765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
X2. I've never replaced those bolts either.

I do have an OCD issue of cleaning each bolt off with a wire brush and also use a dab of locktite.

2003 Corvette Z06 - MGW shifter, Corsa X pipe, Corsa Xtreme exhaust, Texas Speed long tubes w/o cats, PowerStop rotors/pads, Conti DWS tires, C6Z51 F&R sways, C5R headlights, tuned

04 GTO - sold
jpalamar is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-16-2012, 09:58 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Charlottesville VA
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks for your help, time to go to work. I thought it was a little over the top to be replacing them but just wanted to double check.
C'VilleGTO is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do you replace the shifter? xconcepts 1964-1974 Tempest, LeMans & GTO Technical and Electrical Wiring 2 09-10-2011 06:23 PM
New car, what all should I replace jpalamar Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion 23 12-15-2009 04:24 PM
Need to replace headlights jbranontn 1964-1974 Tempest, Lemans & GTO General Discussion 11 05-08-2009 12:30 PM
Will this replace gasoline? speedwrenchx10 The Lounge 0 01-09-2008 06:47 PM
Do I need to replace the old dampener? bigcode99 1964-1974 Tempest, LeMans & GTO Technical and Electrical Wiring 2 10-02-2007 10:21 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome