immo keycode - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-19-2010, 11:21 AM Thread Starter
 
taylorb765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
immo keycode

I put a new computer in my 06 gto cause it would no longer control the actuator motor on the throttle body, when i took it to gm they reflashed the computer and when they were done it requested a keycode in order to communicate with the body control module and start the car. All the dealers i have called around here have no idea what im talkin about and have no clue how to find it. Is there maybe anyone i could call with the vin in order to get this code?
taylorb765 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-19-2010, 11:57 AM
 
HP11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Bernardino, Ca.
Posts: 2,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
The keycode is on the security information card that comes with each of these cars. I don't know where you'd find it. Maybe call the GM Exectuive Office at 313-667-7153 and ask them.

2005 Pontaic GTO - CGM 6 Speed (My car)
2017 Chevrolet Colorado 2WT (My daily driver)
2010 Mercedes Benz C300 Sedan (Wife's car)
2014 Kia Rio LX (Wife's daily driver)
HP11 is online now  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-19-2010, 12:01 PM
 
GM4life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: RAF Lakenheath, UK
Posts: 4,162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
They should be able to pull it with the TECH II. GM will have no idea what your talking about. I tried to order a security card for my car. I called via direct GM and they had no idea.



GM4life is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-19-2010, 12:05 PM
 
HP11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Bernardino, Ca.
Posts: 2,603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
If it can be pulled with a Tech II isn't that what they would have used to reflash the computer?

2005 Pontaic GTO - CGM 6 Speed (My car)
2017 Chevrolet Colorado 2WT (My daily driver)
2010 Mercedes Benz C300 Sedan (Wife's car)
2014 Kia Rio LX (Wife's daily driver)
HP11 is online now  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-19-2010, 12:11 PM Thread Starter
 
taylorb765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HP11 View Post
If it can be pulled with a Tech II isn't that what they would have used to reflash the computer?
Yes they used a tech 2 to reflash the computer and there was no keycode stored in the ecm or the bcm. It askes for the code in order for the ecm to communicate with the body control module. GM has no idea this code exists but I think ill have them send in an extra key request and see if they send the code.
taylorb765 is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-19-2010, 12:51 PM
 
AlaGreyGoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birmingport, Alabama
Posts: 827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
I bought a spare ECM for my 04 Z06 off ebay. I got a sequence programming
procedure to learn the passcode. It is similar to programming a key fob.
I was told this procedure was the same for the GTO.
I will post it when I get home from work.

Larry

2005 GTO Quick - 1984 Honda V65 Magna Quicker - 2004 Z06 Quickest
AlaGreyGoat is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2010, 02:53 PM Thread Starter
 
taylorb765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaGreyGoat View Post
I bought a spare ECM for my 04 Z06 off ebay. I got a sequence programming
procedure to learn the passcode. It is similar to programming a key fob.
I was told this procedure was the same for the GTO.
I will post it when I get home from work.

Larry
Cool
taylorb765 is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2010, 04:59 PM
Super Moderator
 
GTO JUDGE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 8,433
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Garage
Only the dealer can get the codes. There is a special number they call. Don't be surprised if the dealer is in the dark about it many were at one time. Those codes will only be released to a dealer, UNLESS there is a clandestine way to circumvent the procedure.

President: GTO Association of America
www.gtoaa.org


GTO JUDGE is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2010, 09:56 PM
 
AlaGreyGoat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Birmingport, Alabama
Posts: 827
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaGreyGoat View Post
I bought a spare ECM for my 04 Z06 off ebay. I got a sequence programming
procedure to learn the passcode. It is similar to programming a key fob.
I was told this procedure was the same for the GTO.
I will post it when I get home from work.

Larry

Sorry! I've been busy and FORGOT............

I was told by the person who sold me the PCM for my 04 Z06
that the procedure for the GTO was the same.

Here it is::
Attached Files
File Type: txt GM ECM Password Relearn.txt (3.9 KB, 443 views)

2005 GTO Quick - 1984 Honda V65 Magna Quicker - 2004 Z06 Quickest
AlaGreyGoat is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-20-2010, 10:41 PM Thread Starter
 
taylorb765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlaGreyGoat View Post
Sorry! I've been busy and FORGOT............

I was told by the person who sold me the PCM for my 04 Z06
that the procedure for the GTO was the same.

Here it is::
Must be a little different it wont crank or anything and i still went through the whole procedure twice and nothin happened. My cousins own a GM dealership and they are workin on it, they dont have the software called dealerworld that is used to look the information up but they will be calling another dealer tomorrow hopefully they will have good news for me.
taylorb765 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome