Messed with key fob car not starting! - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-17-2014, 11:17 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Messed with key fob car not starting!

So first of all im relatively new to this kind of stuff so excuse my incompetence. The problem started with my key fob's battery dying recently. In an attempt to save some money and not go to a dealer i decided to crack it open and see what i could do. I ended up not being able to get the new battery to take the solder and decided to just let the terminal itself hold it so i could test it out. Not only did the remote not work now the engine wont crank because the immobilizer and ive tried programming the remote twice unsuccessfully. Any help is greatly appreciated guys!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-17-2014, 11:37 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Garage
Fob

Older Key Fobs were pretty streight forward and one could change their battery with no issues. Newer ones not so much. If you use a large ("regular") soldering iron you can easily burn out a diode or other thingie in the remote. A low voltage soldering iron should be used on electronics. The car manufacturers claim the old-style self-programmable remotes were being used to steal cars ... So the car manufacturers changed the remotes to the non-self programmable ones.

Just a guess: You're screwed.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 12-17-2014, 11:54 PM Thread Starter

lol yeah i used the right soldering iron its just that im not sure if the remote is even transmitting anything...

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-16-2015, 09:13 PM

Quoted: 6 Post(s)