my ac compressor blew - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-12-2010, 01:01 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
my ac compressor blew

The bearings on the ac compressor busted yesterday. I need help and opinons. The dealership wants over 1000 for just the parts. I can get a reman compressor for 379 and the orfice tube for 20 from checkers. I can't get any parts from napa or autozone though. And I would have to get the recieve r driver from the dealership which is about 125 to 200. Does anyone have any help for me on what to do? I need ac I live in arizona!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-12-2010, 04:44 PM

Quoted: 24 Post(s)
I'm a licensed AC tech. My advice would be as follows: If only the bearings went out you really wouldn't have to replace the ofifice tube and rec./drier. I know they always say that but as long as threre was no catastrophic failure within the refrigeration system you should only have to have the bearings replaced. I'd find an AC shop and see if they'd just replace the compressor bearings. All you'd be paying for is the bearings, the labor to change them and a recharge.

2005 Pontaic GTO - CGM 6 Speed (My car)
2017 Chevrolet Colorado 2WT (My daily driver)
2010 Mercedes Benz C300 Sedan (Wife's car)
2014 Kia Rio LX (Wife's daily driver)
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-13-2010, 03:56 PM

My AC compressor did the exact same thing. I was going to try and just replace the bearings by pulling off the pulley and then pressing it back on, but it is looking like I will have to pull the compressor the change them out. I found some refurbed compressors on ebay for around 225, might as well replace the whole thing while I have it out.

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-13-2010, 04:39 PM