My new ac compressor came in, now what? - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-02-2010, 09:25 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
My new ac compressor came in, now what?

The question is do I take it to a professional to install, but I really don't have the money. How hard would it be to install with the help of a few mechanic buddies. I just don't want to screw it up, but I don't really have the money to have someone do it for me. What are your thoughts? Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-02-2010, 09:42 PM

Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Do your mechanic buddies have any expertise in the area of MVAC? I'm a licensed HVAC/MVAC tech and I don't like the where the comperssor is mounted in these cars. You have to drain the cooling system and remove the radiator hose and heater hoses to get to the compressor and get it out. If you have any fears or doubts about installing it, I'd really suggest that you take it to a shop.

2005 Pontaic GTO - CGM 6 Speed (My car)
2017 Chevrolet Colorado 2WT (My daily driver)
2010 Mercedes Benz C300 Sedan (Wife's car)
2014 Kia Rio LX (Wife's daily driver)
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-02-2010, 09:43 PM

Garage
If you don't have an air pump, gauges and freon, then you can't do it at home, sorry. Also, the wrong oil, or not flushing the system can ruin a new compressor. Better left to an AC mechanic. I do my own, but I have above tools, and I take my chances. You also have to change out the dryer pretty fast so you don't contaminate the new dessicant.

Burning rubber since 1982!!
My photobucket, lots of dif car pics.
http://s411.photobucket.com/home/jetstang

post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 06-02-2010, 09:53 PM