User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-05-2007, 12:58 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Skype™ to fiddler_red
Oil question

Ok, I've finally got the hang of this. I put this thread in the wrong place. Please forgive my redundancy! (I'm new to the car, but to posting threads as well)

One more time:

I've been reading on this forum many members that swear by using synthetic oil but only after break in. I bought a GTO recently and put just 1500 miles on her. This car has the Mobil 1 synthetic oil that all LS2's ship with. Should I change it to a regular oil and then go through the break in process again before switching back to synthetic? If so, which oil should I use and for how many more miles?

Please advise me, many here are well versed in all of this and I'm new to it all. It's my first new car, I don't want to screw it up! Thanks for all your input.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-05-2007, 01:07 AM

Well, unless I am wrong they don't actually have Mobil 1, they have a synthetic blend... which my service writer told me was slightly different stuff. Of course, I have heard others say that it's just a GM part # for Mobil 1 So, short answer: I don't know. I know I ran the GM stuff for the first two oil changes (2500 and 5000 respectively) and then switched to real Mobil 1.
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 06-05-2007, 02:49 PM
Super Moderator

Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Garage
Keep using Mobil 1.

If the car "needed" regular oil for break-in, regular oil would have been put in it from the git go, followed by an advisory requiring a switch to Mobil 1 afterwards.

If keeping Mobil 1 in the car and not using regular oil would foul something up, then most of us are in trouble.