P0101 - Replaced MAF, still coming on - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-03-2010, 06:56 PM Thread Starter
 
X-Ravin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
P0101 - Replaced MAF, now getting P0174 and P0171 (lean)

So I've got a P0101 in the PCM (MAF voltage low). The SES light comes on if I do some 70+ highway driving. So I changed out the MAF with a new stocker today and the light popped back on tonight . I haven't cleared the stored code, but the light shouldn't have come back on if it was fixed correct? What do I check next?

EDIT: Just went to AZ and pulled the code, acutally P0174 and P0171 tripped the light this time. These are lean bank 1 and 2. Should I unhooked the battery for a while and let the old trims erase since I have the new MAF? Or am I getting ready for a whole new adventure?

06' SRM GTO.

Last edited by X-Ravin; 12-03-2010 at 07:26 PM.
X-Ravin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-03-2010, 07:59 PM Thread Starter
 
X-Ravin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Ok checked all of the hoses, nothing looked problematic. Intake parts are all sealed up tight. Disconnected battery so I guess I'll see what happens

06' SRM GTO.
X-Ravin is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-03-2010, 08:26 PM
 
RJ_05GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Did you just recently install the K&N intake? Or have you recently cleaned and re-oiled it? The maf sensor could be contaminated with the oil that is on the filter. Get some QD electronics cleaner and clean the maf sensor. Dont touch the wires or put any pressure on them with the spray and see if that helps. Ohh and do something with the filter so it does not happen again. Try putting a shop vac hose in it and seal it up the best way you can and vacuum any excess oil out of the filter. Other than that... if everything is sealed up good, I dont know because i doubt you have two bad maf sensors.

05 GTO A4- Svede otrcai, Fast 102, Livernois stg 2 ported heads, Texas Speed 224R cam, Pacesetter LT's, Edge 3000 stall, Kooks afterburners, Pedders 0 drp rear springs and shocks, MT et streets, 418rwhp/391rwtq, [email protected]
RJ_05GTO is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-03-2010, 11:20 PM Thread Starter
 
X-Ravin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Previous owner installed the K&N. But I put a brand new MAF on, not even reman. And then I got the lean codes. Well I've got the battery unhooked, if it comes back on I'll take it in and have it diagnosed.

06' SRM GTO.
X-Ravin is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-08-2010, 10:27 AM
 
jpalamar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boyertown, PA
Posts: 3,765
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Filter could have too much oil and making the MAF dirty. You could try some MAF cleaner and reclean the KNN and use just enough oil to make it turn red.

I'd then pull the battery before restarting the car.
jpalamar is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-08-2010, 07:27 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,777
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
It's possible you need a tune - MAF calibration.

Takes about 5 minutes with the right equipment.
Poncho Dan is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-09-2010, 04:21 AM
 
87GN06GTO07IRL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: A few car lengths ahead in Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 1,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Ravin View Post
Previous owner installed the K&N. But I put a brand new MAF on, not even reman. And then I got the lean codes.
A few people have had intakes cause the lean code.

<-- Guess which ones quicker?.....Nope! Not even close.
87GN06GTO07IRL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replaced Battery Now no Tunes babeman13 Interior Discussions 6 11-11-2009 12:14 PM
C6 might be getting replaced fergyflyer The Lounge 10 08-03-2007 02:15 PM
Replaced GTO MAXAMOOSE 2004-2006 GTO General Discussion 8 06-18-2007 05:02 PM
Anyone replaced muffllers only???? txcharlie Intake and Exhaust Discussions 20 01-12-2007 01:10 AM
so it looks as though my 06 may be getting replaced... rutiger 2004-2006 GTO General Discussion 19 11-27-2005 09:26 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome