Sirius Radio Installation - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-13-2005, 08:36 PM
Rob in CT
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
Sirius Radio Installation

Does anyone have pics of were you have placed your reciever, I'm trying to figure out where to place it.

Also, what mount did you use? I didn't want to use a suction cup to the windshield, but i couldn't find a good place to place a bracket either.

Pics of installs would be very helpful.

Thanks in advance
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-14-2005, 03:01 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Go for the Sirius Starmate. It fits right under the radio in the little storage tray (probably an ashtray in OZ). Looks almost factory, and the cover conceals the unit. (I park in the city.) It is wired in though and not portable, but I didn't have a problem with that. Also, spend the $75 and have a good tech do the installation. Mine looks great, without a sign of the disassembly and reassembly that had to be done to the console and stack. Never thought I would pay for radio, but I haven't listened to the radio or CD since I had it installed a couple of months ago. Good luck.
FastFreddy is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-14-2005, 09:33 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Just took another look...It's the Sirius StarBase.
FastFreddy is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-14-2005, 09:43 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Cherry Hill huh? I am very close by. Never see any other GTO's out here
LIVEVIL is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-16-2005, 08:58 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
In the 6 monthas since I bought it, I've only seen 2 on the road. A black 04, and just yesterday, a red 05 coming off of Route 73.

BTW, had the unit installed at Tweeter on Route 38. They did a great job.
FastFreddy is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-16-2005, 09:40 PM
Rob in CT
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Mentioned: Post(s)
Tagged: Thread(s)
Quoted: Post(s)
I have the sportster reply, it's a bit bigger than your unit. It will not quite fit under the radio. I'm going to have it installed on wednesday, but still don't know quite where to mount it.

At the moment it's stuck to the windshield with a suction cup, but it's hard to reach, and the wires hang all over.
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-16-2005, 10:18 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob in CT
I have the sportster reply, it's a bit bigger than your unit. It will not quite fit under the radio. I'm going to have it installed on wednesday, but still don't know quite where to mount it.

At the moment it's stuck to the windshield with a suction cup, but it's hard to reach, and the wires hang all over.
I have the same unit. Just had it installed under the ashtray. You have to take the plastic tray out for it to fit and you can't use your ashtray also but it looks great and is easy to reach while driving.


JET
J.E.T. is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-17-2005, 12:12 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Do you have it hard wired through an input jack in the back of the head unit or is it am FM modulator? Also, is there any "hissing" sound on high volume?
TexasAggie is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-17-2005, 12:10 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoreMoonShine
Do you have it hard wired through an input jack in the back of the head unit or is it am FM modulator? Also, is there any "hissing" sound on high volume?
It's FM, no hardwire, no hiss at all at any levels.


JET
J.E.T. is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-17-2005, 08:22 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Newburgh, NY
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
GTOs

With only 12,00 per year - you won't see too many. I've seen two since I got mine 5 weeks ago!
shadow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome