Soooo, 1st Gear at about 55-60, bad..no? - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-20-2008, 11:10 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Soooo, 1st Gear at about 55-60, bad..no?

Okay, please don't bash on me too bad but I just want some new opinions. Alright, to start, I'm not a novice driver by any means, infact I've done some road racing and autocross, not to mention plenty of spirited driving through the Blue Ridge Mountains. I was getting on the interstate the other day and went through 1st and hit 2nd pretty good, and went to shift to 3rd, but right as I did my car hit a hard transition in the road surface and jarred me hard enough at just the right friggin time that I hit it into 1st. It went in long enough that it slid the backside sideways and I know you're cringing right now just imagining the sound of this stupid incident. Anyways, I've been driving it since then, and I haven't noticed any unusual noises or erratic idle or whatnot. It's not missing or stumbling. But I feel that my power level, atleast my torque, has diminished. I popped the valve covers off and checked all the rockers, none wered cracked that I could tell. I didn't check the pushrods just simply because I haven't researched the torque and any special procedures with that process. (BTW, I'm new to the LS2, is the lash adjustable with the stock rockers??) I know how to adjust valve lash all day long, but i couldn't for the life of me, figure out how to do it on the LS2 if at all possible. Anyhow I replaced the plugs, just because they needed it, but it still has the original wires which I found some carbon tracking on. And the only other thing I found was one rocker on the passenger side, very front one, that was cocked slightly to the side (not parallel with its twin rocker beside it). I'll be posting pictures soon. I removed this rocker just to check, and it looks like it's been like that f