Front Struts & Rear Shocks - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-04-2010, 01:47 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Front Struts & Rear Shocks

I have over 120,000 on a 2005 GTO. I am a little concerned about the front Struts and rear shocks. I have a good knowledge of car mechanics, done brake jobs, replaced shocks, replaced a clutch, etc on other cars. I have no experience with struts. I do not know when they need to be replaced or with what. The struts show no signs of distress or need for replacement, but with the high mileage, that is a concern. The ride is good with no excessive body roll or unusual tire wear. Is this a Do It Yourself kind of job? I have done several searches and come up dry. As always, I would appreciate your thoughts on the matter.
I have seen a lot of discussion about bushings and the like. How do I check that and what do I look for? Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-04-2010, 01:58 PM
Super Moderator

Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Garage
Do the #2 pencil test (if you are using 17" tires) If the pencil passes between the sidewall and the strut the strut is still within proper alignment. If its not leaking and everything is in order why replace them? Take a look at the bushing in the engine bay and see if there is any signs of cracking or compressing. If they need replaced it should be a doable job for someone mechanically astute.

President: GTO Association of America
www.gtoaa.org

post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 02-04-2010, 04:17 PM
Former Moderator

Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Garage