Help I Have Axle hop! - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-11-2006, 12:28 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Help I Have Axle hop!

Well guys Her is the skinny, I took my 04 got for the first time since getting the car to the track. You all have been here I am sure. I will admit this is my first time with an IRS rear end in a car and I probably need some driving classes with it. but the axle hop was terrible! my 60 ft was bad 2.48 with the rear end jumping around like it was going out of style(street tires) Like I said i kow I am not the only person that has this problem but I am the only one whom hasn't fixed it yet! I need to know if anyone has found some remedy's to eliminate this problem?HELP!!!! So I don't dissapoint GTO lovers everywere! And yes i will be excepting all wise cracks about my driving. Help Please? btw car is bone stock.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-11-2006, 12:36 PM

You're launching with too much RPM. 1700 to 2000 RPM tops. 26 psi in the rear tires, too.

Hope fergyflyer sees this -- as he has the most experience here on the quarter mile in a GTO.
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-11-2006, 06:46 PM

We need to know what you're doing to launch the car currently.

I drive an '05 A4 bone stock and have gotten 60' times of 2.0 at a track with very good prep. At a track with crappy prep I get 2.1 60s every time. I am currently launching between 1500 and 2000 RPM with the T/C off.

post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-11-2006, 08:20 PM Thread Starter