Solution repair on driveshaft center bearing support (Part 1) - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 11-19-2013, 05:24 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Solution repair on driveshaft center bearing support (Part 1)

Hi everyone! I'm Frank Valencia, I'm a master tech and shop owner here in Miami, FL. I just wanted to share a step by step repair on those center bearing supports that break real easily due to the amount of torque these vehicles make with such crappy rubber inserts around the bearing. My customer comes in with a rear end vibration while driving which sounded like there was a driveline issue. When I lifted the vehicle I found this:

So obviously I was searching everywhere on these parts. But all I got was that the whole driveshaft had to be replaced. It's like $1100.00 from the stealership and the only other solution was thedriveshaftshop with the after market 1100hp driveshaft that's like $700.00. The thing is I started looking at this really well...and I came up with an aha moment. It took me back to the homemade motor mount inserts I used to do in my racing days. When I explained the procedure to my customer he was psyched. Let me tell you this repair is even better and more durable that this factory crap. And it works excellent! So here it goes...

Step 1: Upon removal of driveshaft, you need to set the shaft on a shop vise. You have to remove the center bearing support bracket so you can prep and clean the interior. It might be a pain in the ass to remove it from the end of the shaft. You might have to remove some of the rubber material to get it out. Once it's out grind all that old rubber material on the inside.