Drag Radials on 2004 GTO (Nitto) - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-16-2011, 12:21 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Drag Radials on 2004 GTO (Nitto)

I just got back from the track on Wednesday... I wasn't happy at all; I was not getting good numbers. But hey I got a perfect light of .000 which made my night better. Haha.

My issue is tire spin off the line and through first, second, and third gear. I drive an Automatic transmission and those who are familiar with the 2004 GTO's know that they squat when staging up and holding the gas and brake using the stock stall on the car.

I was wanting some drag radials for the car. I preferably would like to have Nitto's. I have narrowed it down to the NT05R and the NT555R. I have a feeling that the NT05R would hook better just by the look of the tread pattern but I am no expert on tires. Will the Nt05R even fit? I have searched all of the internet to find if anyone has had them on a GTO.. I didn't find much at all. It seemed that the NT555R was pretty popular.

I am wanting to run a 275/40/r17 on the stock rims.

Also I am only running 425rwhp and 400rwtq so I do not need slicks or anything. Just something to get the job done.

Has anyone had experience with either tire? Any piece of feed back would be greatly appreciated..Thanks

Also has anyone heard of running the GTO's spare tire as a skinny on the front? I was reading about it but didn't seem safe to me. If anyone has heard of that or know anything about it being better please tell me. I am curious to try it but do not want to be the first to experiment and break something.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-16-2011, 08:40 AM
Former Moderator

Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by A4GTOMAJOR View Post