Guages Flash in and out - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-28-2011, 11:09 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Guages Flash in and out

Hey, I will try to get a video of it on here tomorrow but I am am doubtful it is supposed to do this. My primary digital guage stays fine but the ones on the left and right, will be on for about 2 seconds then go off for about 2 seconds and do that the entire time, so if I have it set to the speedometer you never see an issue but with the other ones like range, where my instant mpg is just blinks in and out.
Jeffcarr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-28-2011, 11:19 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Jeffcarr is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 10-29-2011, 06:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I would like to know if even this is normal behavior or not.
Jeffcarr is offline  
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-04-2011, 10:18 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Just to make sure, I am not talking about the over all lighting, just the the left and right digital, the center one stays steady.
Jeffcarr is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-04-2011, 11:19 AM
 
ZEIKE524's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Sounds like a bad connection from the back of the speedo. Dont think those two guages are a seperate plug in though. strange that everything else doesnt do it as well.
ZEIKE524 is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-04-2011, 11:34 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZEIKE524 View Post
Sounds like a bad connection from the back of the speedo. Dont think those two guages are a seperate plug in though. strange that everything else doesnt do it as well.
Thanks for the reply, since it isn't normal I will try to check into it more and it is always occurring and stay in time, so it is very strange. I have just begun to leave it set to the speedometer so that those two aren't being used.
Jeffcarr is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-04-2011, 01:33 PM
 
ZEIKE524's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yeah that sucks though. i always use those guages. but anyway i dont have a wiring diagram but try to find that and see how many plugs go into the back of the speedo.
ZEIKE524 is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-04-2011, 02:55 PM
 
HP11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Bernardino, Ca.
Posts: 2,608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Don't think it helps to know this but there is only one plug that goes into the back cluster. The way it connects there is little chance of a bad connection since it mounts with a locking tab.

2005 Pontaic GTO - CGM 6 Speed (My car)
2017 Chevrolet Colorado 2WT (My daily driver)
2010 Mercedes Benz C300 Sedan (Wife's car)
2014 Kia Rio LX (Wife's daily driver)
HP11 is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-05-2011, 04:01 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Spring Hill, TN
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HP11 View Post
Don't think it helps to know this but there is only one plug that goes into the back cluster. The way it connects there is little chance of a bad connection since it mounts with a locking tab.
Any thoughts on what could cause it, just a bad cluster likely?
Jeffcarr is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-07-2011, 08:33 PM
 
gggto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cumberland Md
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
My gauges do weird stuff like flash and sometimes the speedo will say I'm doing 150mph when I'm actually going 20mph but i isolated the problem and realized it only does it when i have my headlights on auto and if i just have them "on" there is no problem.... Beats me

My exhaust is the alarm clock for everyone on my route to work. Your Welcome
gggto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Interior Discussions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
guages crazyflames3 740tank 2004-2006 GTO General Discussion 10 03-02-2010 10:24 AM
Swapping guages jpalamar Service, Maintenance and Technical Discussion 18 02-14-2010 09:23 PM
Guages for 04 GTO GTOBert 2004-2006 GTO General Discussion 4 01-28-2005 06:29 PM
guages roadracer 2004-2006 GTO General Discussion 1 11-14-2004 02:29 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome