Instrument Cluster Digital Display Problems - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-22-2014, 12:40 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Instrument Cluster Digital Display Problems

Hey guys has anyone else had a problem with their Digital Display bleeding black lines in with the MPH,Volume, and the start up Pontiac logo? When I turn the car on the lines start showing up when the Pontiac shows up then the lines will go away when the mileage comes up. If I turn the volume up or down it will mess up badly until the volume goes away. Also when i switch over to MPH it does the exact same. Is the display going bad or do I have a grounding issue going on??

Thanks, Chirs
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20140820_213917.jpg
Views:	279
Size:	1.21 MB
ID:	44537   Click image for larger version

Name:	20140820_213938.jpg
Views:	364
Size:	853.7 KB
ID:	44545   Click image for larger version

Name:	20140820_214100.jpg
Views:	215
Size:	889.9 KB
ID:	44553   Click image for larger version

Name:	20140820_214110.jpg
Views:	357
Size:	864.2 KB
ID:	44561  
ChitownHustler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 08-22-2014, 02:01 PM
Former Moderator
 
svede1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 4,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Garage
It's odd that it varies with the controls. I'd at least take a good look at the wiring

2004 Blk/Rd M6
6.3 litre LS1

Built and tuned by svede
svede1212 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-31-2015, 08:41 PM
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Are there any more posts this? My screen is just entirely filled and it doesn't change at all
LastZephyr23 is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-01-2016, 05:34 AM
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Clarkesville, Ga
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Send a message via MSN to Gto-noob Send a message via Skype™ to Gto-noob
mines doing this, have you figured out what was wrong?
Gto-noob is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-01-2016, 10:17 PM
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Same here....got my 06 back from the body shop after close to 2 months and it had this problem immediately. Any of your cars with this problem been sitting idle for a while like mine?
Whogivesah is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-05-2017, 09:03 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
mine went completely blank, I was told gm discontinued the clusters. there are shops that can replace just the center screen. they no longer make the screens but if you can find a donor cluster (ebay has em) the shop can transplant the screen.hope this helps good luck
05gtogoat is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-12-2018, 12:50 AM
 
aircraftjack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
The small center screen in my 2006 the numbers are faded but noy on the other two screens any suggestions?
aircraftjack is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-12-2018, 02:40 PM
 
GTO44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aircraftjack View Post
The small center screen in my 2006 the numbers are faded but noy on the other two screens any suggestions?
The best way to take care of this is to send in your dash cluster to Bohnman Customs. He has a service where he replaces your malfuncting center screen with one from a salvage car. He can even change the lighting scheme while he's in there. The base cost is $125. I will be doing that soon as my center screen has been acting up lately. It's a common problem with GTO's.

Here's the link to the service:
https://www.bohnmancustoms.com/GTO_C..._17633326.aspx

2006 GTO M6

Motor - Stock with Vararam
Bunch of suspension
Bunch of brakes
Stock tune

365/368 std
12.81 @ 110.6 2.03 60'
GTO44 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Interior Discussions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'06 Digital Dash Center Display Fading? holdenite Interior Discussions 0 11-30-2013 01:56 AM
66 instrument cluster stevebrochu 1964-1974 Tempest, LeMans & GTO Projects, Barn Finds & Restoration Discussions 3 11-09-2012 02:46 AM
64 Instrument Cluster GTOKID64 1964-1974 Tempest, LeMans & GTO Technical and Electrical Wiring 1 10-13-2010 07:27 PM
2005 Instrument Cluster chucksgto Interior Discussions 4 12-05-2008 08:17 PM
Digital Display GTO JUDGE 2004-2006 GTO General Discussion 4 12-27-2005 07:28 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome