Instrument panels removal and reinstall - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-21-2013, 08:56 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Instrument panels removal and reinstall

I have an 05 and it has had some kind of conditioner sprayed on the plastic cover for the instruments that will not come off. I found another, but I'm wondering if when I replace it all my current settings like odometer and stuff like that is stored on the cars computer system and will revert back to the right settings and readings. Also if I replace it can I just leave the ignition off to unplug it and plug it back in instead of unhooking the battery. Not sure if it is true that if you lose the battery contact that the code for the key will no longer be good. Thanks for any help
BoiseLS2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-22-2013, 10:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Help a Brother out !

No one ?
BoiseLS2 is offline  
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-01-2013, 12:44 PM
Former Moderator
 
svede1212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Grand Rapids, Michigan
Posts: 4,081
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Garage
Unhooking the battery only affects learned fuel trims which will relearn in short order. I believe the odometer values are stored in the cluster so I think you would lose them. You need to use a '05-'06 cluster tho for your car. The VIN numbers will not match

2004 Blk/Rd M6
6.3 litre LS1

Built and tuned by svede
svede1212 is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 09-03-2013, 07:40 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Boise, Idaho
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by svede1212 View Post
Unhooking the battery only affects learned fuel trims which will relearn in short order. I believe the odometer values are stored in the cluster so I think you would lose them. You need to use a '05-'06 cluster tho for your car. The VIN numbers will not match
Ended up not needing it, but it is for sale on Ebay now.
BoiseLS2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Interior Discussions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1966 GTO instrument cluster removal and reinstall hwilliams15 1964-1974 Tempest, LeMans & GTO Projects, Barn Finds & Restoration Discussions 2 04-18-2013 02:29 PM
Instrument cluster removal RGT Interior Discussions 5 11-09-2012 05:30 PM
Reinstall Delco PB AM radio wiring redgoat67 1964-1974 Tempest, Lemans & GTO Convertible Top, Interior, Glass and Trunk 2 04-30-2012 09:08 PM
Instrument cluster removal on 67 billcocarb 1964-1974 Tempest, LeMans & GTO Technical and Electrical Wiring 8 11-15-2011 10:33 PM
Removal / Reinstall of silver steering wheel spoke covers. Help please! stephen77375 Interior Discussions 1 10-26-2011 11:28 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome