JHP Gauge Pod Install Question - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-03-2006, 03:50 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
JHP Gauge Pod Install Question

For those of who have installed this, does the radio need to come out or can you get by with just poping the top cover off and routing the cable from the rear like the JHP instructions say. I was reading the PDF and can figure out why the radio and trim would need to come off. It seems like a lot easier of an install if you do not have the radio removal and trim step. thanks for any input.
lotaguts is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-03-2006, 07:51 PM
 
Holden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
On mine the wire was below ac controls and I removed radio and cover like instructions said, donít forget to plug in 4way switch (I did). On the other hand Guy on EBay says just use hook and pull wire up from top. I didnít mind removing radio did some other modes same time. Very hard to get out first time!
Holden is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-03-2006, 07:53 PM
 
Holden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Iím in St Pete how far south you?
Holden is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-03-2006, 08:41 PM
 
UdnUdnGTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lyndon, KS
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yeh, I read the JHP instructions too. I even ordered the tool to remove the radio. I assume your's is an 05 or 06. Anyway, a flashlight and a wire coat hanger and a little patience, i fished the wire harness, cut the tape and brought it up without taking out all that stuff. Saved time and frustration.
UdnUdnGTO is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-04-2006, 08:01 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am down in Coral Springs,FL (ft. lauderdale) and I am debating on plunking down the $$$ on the pod just researching the install and it does not make sense to remove all that other stuff but, I guess removing the radio/trim is just for easier access to the plug I cannot see any other reason. I am definately going to reroute the plug from the rear no cutting here . I have got an 05 PBM A4 June 05 build

Last edited by lotaguts; 08-04-2006 at 08:46 AM.
lotaguts is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-04-2006, 09:25 AM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via AIM to ftlfirefighter Send a message via Yahoo to ftlfirefighter
Lotaguts, it's easy, you don't need to take apart the dash. Takes 10 min. Snap off the cover, find the wire that's taped down to the right, plug it into the pod and snap it in place.
ftlfirefighter is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-04-2006, 11:23 AM
 
UdnUdnGTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lyndon, KS
Posts: 585
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ftlfirefighter
Lotaguts, it's easy, you don't need to take apart the dash. Takes 10 min. Snap off the cover, find the wire that's taped down to the right, plug it into the pod and snap it in place.
UdnUdnGTO is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-04-2006, 11:57 AM
 
Mean Goat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lotaguts
I am definately going to reroute the plug from the rear no cutting here .
I installed mine earlier today, rerouting the plug from the rear and without doing any cutting.

Took about 5 minutes, but I had already found the plug and had it in place.

2005 M6 Quicksilver/Black - All Stock

Tribulus terrestris

Goathead


Don't be fearful of dying.
Be fearful of not living.
Mean Goat is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 08-04-2006, 01:11 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
thanks for the input gentleman
lotaguts is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 10-09-2009, 12:26 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
JHP POD install

After reading the install files on the JHP website, a few concerns surfaced. I have a post Feb 06 production 6spd GTO --------- actually an Apr 06 build date.

Anyone had any problems cutting out the underlying dash structure to accept the POD, or removing and splicing the instrument panel wiring ? I wonder what purpose the original uncut dash structure serves; e.g., dash vibration, noise isolation ? I also wonder why the factory design did not raise the POD "dual hoods" enough (less than half an inch) to enable the gauges to clear, and avoid the cuts ?
colvin_george is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Interior Discussions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome