Pioneer AVICD3 In-Dash Navigation System - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-18-2007, 02:49 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Pioneer AVICD3 In-Dash Navigation System

Anyone istall one yet??? Bestbuy and circuit city now have them in stock. (But I know I can get them cheaper online), Both store sites say that it is not able to fit in our car??? I want the damn thing! Anyone put one in yet? Any problems? and exactly what do I need to buy to make the steering wheel buttons work with THIS unit????

Thanks in advance!
flyer469 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-18-2007, 06:01 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
According to Crutchfield, the AVIC-N3 will fit, here are the size differences:

Dimensions (Main Chassis)

N3: 7" x 2" x 6-1/2"

D3: 2DIN (7" x 4" x 6-1/2")

The one you are looking at is Double Din.

Check out this thread:
https://www.gtoforum.com/showthread.php?t=12124

Last edited by abright52; 03-18-2007 at 06:09 PM.
abright52 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-18-2007, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Not as much worried about it fitting, I can make anything fit,,I am more worried about the wiring connections. Went by circuit city and they had one in stock. But they said that it will not work in the GTO, go figure. They also do not list an adapitor? Not that I can find,, I just want to make sure that I can wire this thing up and keep the steering wheel controls.. Cant find the stuff to do it!
flyer469 is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-18-2007, 07:56 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
That thread that I posted explains how to use the steering wheel controls. Go to Pioneer and download the installation manual. You don't have to have a harness to install a Head Unit. If you aren't comfortable with installing one without a harness, I would suggest that you take it to a real car audio shop.
abright52 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-19-2007, 02:19 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I am comfortable with doing all the work myself, before I get into it, Do the wire colors match with the new radio to the old wire harness? Will I get in trouble doing it that way?
thanks
flyer469 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-19-2007, 07:35 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
If you jump on Pioneer's website you should be able to find the wire outputs from the HU.

You will have to check your wiring connector, but this may help:
http://www.installdr.com/Harnesses/GM-Wiring.pdf
abright52 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-11-2007, 05:20 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have the AVIC-D3 in mine now and it is awesome! Metra just came out with a $25 double din dash kit for the GTO's. Most big stereo shops go thru metra for thier kits. I will post some pics in a bit. I didn't hook up the steering wheel controls tho. I got sirius satalite and ipod cable. Just hooked up to stock speakers. Sounds so much better than blaupunk HU. Nav works great too. I also turned up the stock sub amp in the trunk. All in all I am very pleased with it. Got it for $830 at trader village in Houston.
GTOMax is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-11-2007, 05:23 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Oh yeah, you will need to get a Volkswagon wiring harness adapter (not GM) and a volkswagon antenna adapter.
GTOMax is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-11-2007, 05:48 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
One of these shots is at night, and another is with the custom background you can load.








GTOMax is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-11-2007, 06:59 PM
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Nice kit.... A cool touch would be to get the suede that's in the doors, shave the kit a little and wrap it in either the door suede, or vinyl matching the interior. Just my .02. I like it none-the-less.
exwrx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Pontiac GTO Forum > The 2004-2006 GTO > Interior Discussions

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Pontiac GTO Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome