Adventures in a G8 - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 1 (permalink) Old 04-29-2014, 12:44 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Adventures in a G8

This was my friend Bob's G8. Sadly, Bob was sent to the big house for the next 8 1/2 years....word to the wise, don't think for a second that you can get away with cheating your old Uncle Sam out of your hard earned money.

If they only got you for money, the feds let you self report to whatever prison they decide to send you to. Bob and I have been road-tripping together for over 30 years so it only made sense that I should be the one to drive him the 400 miles all the way across Ohio to begin his sentence.

I did all the driving and good lord are those cars FAST. Across the pancake parts of Ohio I ran it up to 140'ish numerous times. we stayed on the secondary roads for the whole trip to minimize police sightings and because Bob was in no hurry to get to prison. Long flat roads running through long flat corn and bean fields make for some fun driving and since I would be dropping the car off at the bank when I finally got back with it, I drove it like I stole it. Lots of burn outs, plenty of donuts and pushing the gas pedal through the floor. It was a hoot.

Eastern Ohio is all hills, curves and Amish buggies at every other turn. I know they're a very forgiving people so I took my chances and burned through like a canyon racer. Scared a few of them, scared myself a few times and almost made Bob puke when I pulled the old Rockford Files high speed sliding turn around thing to go back and buy some strawberries at the Amish farm I'd just blown past.