User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 08-19-2016, 09:00 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Almost Blinded Last Night in my Shop

Catchy heading....
A freak accident. Isn't that how most accidents go?
Disclaimer: I'm a general contractor for 30 years. I teach safety courses. I know what's right and what's wrong,,,,, safety wise. Yep, it happened to me...
I just finished installing my HF media blaster cabinet (the large floor based model). I powered it up and was testing the unit out and changing the tips, trying to find the best tip for the medial I was using. My compressor was next to the media blaster.
NO SAFETY GLASSES.
I WAS A DUMB ASS (oh, it's okay - there's a heavy plastic and glass shield over the enclosure).
I was tired and heard an odd noise on my compressor. The blast door was open (compressor to the right of the open door).
I leaned down to the compressor controls with my head inline with the open blast door.
Suddenly, I head something and turned my head to look at the media cabinet.
And..... the nozzle blew off the hose at high pressure 14" from my face.
My eyes were wide open, no safety glasses. The tip shot by my head and the glass media hit my straight in the face and eyes. Wide open.
I staggered back and fell. I couldn't see and it felt like my face and eyes had just been sand blasted off my face.
I crawled to the compressor and turned it off. I was blinded.
No one was home.
I felt my way inside and to the bathroom. Grabbed a bottle of saline solution and started pouring into my eyes and face.
After more then an hour, most of the glass/sand was out of my eyes and I could see somewhat. My face is raw.
The only good thing is I had contacts in. The contacts absorbed most of the impact. However, around my pupils where my contacts were covering, I have burst capillaries all around. Looks like I'm a weird stoner guy.....