05/06 LS2 in a '67 GTO? - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-02-2011, 02:04 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
05/06 LS2 in a '67 GTO?

Newbie here. Before blasting, I did do a search before asking this.

I have a 2006 GTO and am looking to buy a '67 with no motor but with 4 speed trans as a companion car. I'd love to put a 2005-2006 GTO LS2 in the '67. Has anyone here done it and how easy/difficult is it? Would also consider putting the modern A4 or M6 trans in the older car as well. Anyone done that? Idea is for totally stock look with modern real GTO running gear. Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-02-2011, 04:50 PM

Garage
It's been done, not just in GTO's but in other A body cars like Chevelle. It's not hard at all as long as you have some general mechanic skills. They actually make everything you need in aftermarket kits. I think Edelbrock makes one. I'd go with a 4L60 or 4L80 transmission though.
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-03-2011, 10:57 AM

GM has a new engine line called the E-Rod. The LS3 is available and it comes with everything you need to put the LS3 in a classic car (short of the various mounts). They are turnkey engines.

GM Performance Parts | E-ROD LS3 | The Future of Hot Rod Performance

post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-03-2011, 11:45 AM
64-67 Expert

Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Mikesan, I have to ask, how many miles have you driven/ridden in a vintage GTO? The reason I ask is that it seems that the people who want to do the most extensive mods and install modern powertrains are the people who've never really spent much if any time behind the wheel of a '64-'74 GTO. No offense is intended...I'm just curious. But now I'm wondering how slick a Hyabusa motor would look in a '53 Harley...........Thanks........
Jeff
post #5 of 26 (permalink) Old 04-03-2011, 11:59 AM

Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Quote: