1967 gto trunk restore - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-27-2011, 10:32 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
1967 gto trunk restore

ok so please forgive me as I am new to this forum and I am new to the world of restoring. I have some background in welding (mostly underwater was a diver) I have a 140 mig lincoln welder. I am working on an air compressor. I have never done any kind of body work and I will take my time. I cut out the sheet metal that was used as the trunk. the person I got this from just stick welded some low grade sheet metal (i think it was a water heater skin) and there is rust everywhere. This GTO is all numbers matching and I am planning to do a complete frame off restore. I need to replace both rear lower quarter panels,both trunk inner side filler panels, and the trunk itself ( fuel tank brace's body braces. So where do I start now that the trunk is out... was thinking the rear quarters then the trunk side filler panels. also I was planning on getting most of these stamped sheet metal from OPGI parts catalog but I have seen Cheaper metal on Ebay. the stuff on ebay looks like it fits alot of models and years. I am wondering if its safer to stick with the opgi or take my chances on the ebay stuff. I would probably have to modify to fit the stuff from ebay. any items or tips guys would help a ton..... I am really nervous and will be asking for a ton of help. thanks again p.s I am sure this is not spell checked and there is run ons but really you guys get the point.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-28-2011, 07:34 AM

Garage
Hi. We just finished doing panel repair on my 65 GTO. I would recommend purchasing your replacement panels from reputable sources such as Ames, OPG