1969 Pontiac restoration project - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-12-2017, 09:05 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
1969 Pontiac restoration project

I have been restoring a 1969 Pontiac GTO for years now. The body and interior is fully restored. Now it is time to replace the engine and transmission. The current engine in the car is a 307. I am looking to put a 400 back in the car with a new transmission. However, I have no clue how much this will cost. I have very little experience in this area. Any suggestions on the motor and transmission would be greatly appreciated. A rough estimate on how much this could potentially cost would be appreciated too. I've always though it would cost around 10k, but I really don't know.

The attached file below is a picture of the car.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0280 (1).JPG
Views:	47
Size:	49.9 KB
ID:	90714  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 05-12-2017, 11:49 AM

Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Welcome to the Forum, have you sent off for PHS documentation on the '69? As a serious restorer, I always caution in this instance, there are several different approaches that can be taken, depending on what the original car was equipped with drivetrain wise. If the car was an original 400 2bbl or 400 YS automatic car, there is honestly little to be gained by trying to recreate an original engine coded drivetrain. We never know when our time is up, & cars often get sold to move on to other pursuits or obligations. Multi decade sales prices... Typically, even restored non numbers matching 4speed '68-70's tend to command more attention amongst collectors than low horse automatic cars. If the car is a factory RamAir car or even a WT 4spd car, thats where in a restoration, consideration needs to be taken into what block & heads are going back under the hood.