65 GTO Interior Restoration Questions - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-28-2011, 12:45 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
65 GTO Interior Restoration Questions

I'm new to GTOs and managed to find a 90% complete car...the only major bit of work left is to install the interior. Unfortunately, the seller was planning on a black interior and did the dash in black. My first question is whether its possible to update the dash board and pad to red without removing the windshield and complete disassembling the dash instruments...I'm guessing that's it not possible, but I'd sure appreciate everyone's experience with this before I start tearing the car apart.

I also have a couple of other questions:

1. any issues that I should be aware of if I try to install an reproduction centre console in this car
2. any opinions about which interior upholstery manufacturer is better
3. any opinions about which pontiac parts vendor is the best to deal with.

Thanks very much for your help with these questions.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-28-2011, 12:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riccap View Post
I'm new to GTOs and managed to find a 90% complete car...the only major bit of work left is to install the interior. Unfortunately, the seller was planning on a black interior and did the dash in black. My first question is whether its possible to update the dash board and pad to red without removing the windshield and complete disassembling the dash instruments...I'm guessing that's it not possible, but I'd sure appreciate everyone's experience with this before I start tearing the car apart.

1. any issues that I should be aware of if I try to install an reproduction centre console in this car

i think all colors of cars look good with a black dash and pad. otherwise you need to disassemble it.

py is a good vendor for parts.