Console advise for 68 GTO - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-04-2013, 08:50 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Console advise for 68 GTO

When I bought my 68 GTO the console was junk and I took it out. It was busted in several places and could not be repaired. Good used ones on Ebay are going for 700 to 900 bucks. The Parts Place has a 68 manual console kit that has everything except mounting brackets for 279.00. Has anyone seen these or have any experience with them? I would really like to see what someone on the forum has to say about them before I order one. Thanks
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-06-2013, 12:24 PM Thread Starter

Console

You know, it seems as if someone would know something about these consoles good or bad. 68 views and no replies. Wow
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-06-2013, 01:27 PM

Garage
I have no experience with the one you are talking about at The Parts Place, but I have heard really good things about the newer version at Ames. Around $400 for the console itself. Of course you will need the other piece-parts too. $700-$900 seems a bit high. OK, between The Parts Place and Ames, I would guess "you get what you pay for" applies here. Just IMO. Regards, Matt

post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 12-06-2013, 10:57 PM

I used a reproduction console in my previous 68.

Unless they have introduced a new version, the reproduction console is hard plastic (ABS), not covered with foam-backed vinyl skin.

It fit OK and looked good when installed. I painted it with a lower gloss black interior paint to match the original vinyl finish (as received, it had a higher gloss than the original part).

The aftermarket console bin and lid will work with the reproduction base, but you might have to do some "finessing" to get the lid to sit and close properly on the base.