Driver's side fender gaps & Rust proofing. - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 04-26-2012, 07:40 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Driver's side fender gaps & Rust proofing.

Hi Guy's,

I hope I'm posting in the right section, if not, then I hope the Mod's move it to the right one.

I have two questions for all of you who have tackled restorations on your rides. The first is: How difficult is it to get the driver's side front fender aligned on my '65 GTO. The gap between the fender and the driver's door has now started to rub when I open the door. What would be invoved to get this gap set properly. I have both the 1965 Tempest shop manual and the '64 - '72 restoration guide but can't seem to find any good pictures or diagrams that show how to do it. As you guessed it, I am a complete noob when it comes to sheet metal and body panels.

My second question is: I bought my '65 in Maryland this past Feburary, it was never outside that area, the body and frame are in good shape, nothing major, just alittle surface rust starting to form on the under side and along the inside frame rails. I want to get the car Krown'ed, up here that's a spray on oil/wax rust inhibitor. No holes drilled, just sprayed on the underside and inside the frame.

I plan on doing a restoration in a couple of years, so this would be until I start that. Any opinion's or suggestion's would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 04-26-2012, 12:39 PM
64-67 Expert

Quoted: 99 Post(s)