Hello From Southeastern NC - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-02-2015, 06:40 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Hello From Southeastern NC

Hey guys, been lurking about a week going over old threads.....Great Forum!

Although I'm a "Blue Oval" guy, I recently purchased a 68 GTO convertible from a gentleman that has been covered in his garage (and not cranked) for the last 10 years. He had (in his words) a frame off reto done on the goat 12 years ago. The resto was alright at best, front bumper to hood and bottom valance are misaligned. Paint looks great but needs work on a couple of places. Seems to be an electrical problem that drains the battery....all in all I'd say the car is 65% of where it should be.....Parts Catalogs Ordered. I'm not a resto expert but know my way around a car, as long as it's not busting down a motor. As with many car projects, my Son & I are going to work on this together (Yea Right....LOL).

I know this is my first post, but could I be as bold as to ask.....Where would you start on a project like this? Should I drain & refill fluids and fire it off? Or should I go ahead and pull motor & trans for rebuild? Does anyone know of Pontiac resto shops in NC?

I don't plan on this car being a trailer or shop queen, but I want to build her right. I will be posting progress on our project.

Thanks in advance for any help or advice.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 05-02-2015, 08:00 PM

Location: Gastonia, NC - Born & raised in Connecticut - 31 years
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 367 Post(s)
Garage