Hood repair - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-13-2017, 10:02 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Hood repair

I've never done any kind of body work before, so I'll probably need to practice on something else first, but...

How would one go about repairing this hood? Body filler? Some cutting and welding?

The grinding and such already done was done by the previous owner.

Any ideas are welcome. Should be some pics...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170808_121947_1502675840304.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	1.67 MB
ID:	94993   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170808_121955_1502675977015.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	1.89 MB
ID:	95001   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170808_122001_1502676023464.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	1.72 MB
ID:	95009   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170808_122012_1502676068004.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	1.51 MB
ID:	95017   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20170808_122039_1502676115342.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	1.66 MB
ID:	95025  

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 08-14-2017, 02:41 PM

Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 121 Post(s)
Your '73's hood can only be repaired propperly through careful metal replacement. that style hood (NASA with the cowl vents in the rear) is only a 2 year usage hood. I've parted several '73 & '74 LeMans Sports & two '73 GTO's over the years which yielded 3 solid straight hoods. I wouldn't put any such '73 hood up there in value with a perfect '72 endura nose hood or a perfect original '69 RamAir or a '70 RamAir hood, but the '73 style of hood is not an easy one to find.