Need some front end fitting advice - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-24-2011, 10:32 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Need some front end fitting advice

I am just getting started fitting the front end back together. Have a slight issue where it looks like in order to get the front fender to line up with the front of the body I need to have it about 1-2 inches higher at the front cross member. I looked at the diagram in my restoration book and can't see anthing obvious I am missing, but am wondering about the way the front cross member mounts to the frame. I picked up new bushings and have those installed but again, seems a bit too low. Here are some pics showing my work in progress. Any ideas would be appreciated. I am assuming I could make a spacer under the bushing but don't want to go down that route until I triple check I am not missing something obvious. Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-24-2011, 11:48 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Garage
You need to raise the radiator support. There should be rubber bushings between the chassis rail and the support, where the bolt goes through....shim as necessary with washers.....Eric

post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-24-2011, 04:26 PM

Garage
Send a message via AIM to Josh.AZ.GTO
Your missing radiator support bushings. Kits can easily be found at places like opgi and Ames. Should cost about $30 (ballpark).

Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app

JOSHUA
1970 GTO 455HO Cardinal Red

post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 10-24-2011, 05:09 PM Thread Starter