New Member/First Post - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-31-2011, 09:11 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
New Member/First Post

I will be looking at a 1964 Pontiac GTO convertible that is for sale in my area. I have spoken with the owner and although he doesn't have any documentation that his car is a real GTO, he did tell me that he "had somebody check it out for him" and he is presenting the car as a real GTO. The seller believes the car to be a real GTO.

I have some experience with Fords and Mustangs (I restored a 65 Mustang Fastback 2+2, that I still own), but I know very little about Pontiacs.

Is there any information in the VIN or body tag that would allow me to determine that the car is a real GTO or a built-up Lemans?

Any insights or tips you could provide would be appreciated. I am assuming that the value of this car would be less for a Lemans versus a factory built GTO?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-31-2011, 10:33 AM
Former Moderator

Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
In '64, a GTO was a LeMans option(option #382). It is best to send the vin number to PHS Historic Services to verify the GTO option. They can fax it to you if you want a quick turnaround. If it was assembled in Pontiac, MI or Kansas City, MO (on the data plate next to "body", (PON or KC/KAN)you should see a 5N at the bottom of the data plate(5 - Group option, N - GTO).

You are correct, a LeMans has less value than a GTO.

SOLD.....
462ci, 4spd
Performer Intake, Mild Cam
Pertronix Ignitor III
Accel Super Coil, Accel 8.8mm Wires

Last edited by 68greengoat; 05-31-2011 at 10:50 AM.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-31-2011, 11:42 AM Thread Starter

Thanks for the info.

Coincidentally, I am located in Madison!

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-31-2011, 02:17 PM