new to old muscle - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 02-20-2011, 04:29 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
new to old muscle

guys, this is my first pontiac and first old muscle car. I just bought a 67 lemans coupe (post) that appears to be in OK shape. it was kind of a barn find, guy that started on it (fresh 350 pontiac and 350 tranny) unfortunately it was owned by someone who wanted to make it a redneck show car...they failed. I will include a link to my streetfire pictures. first off, I'm new to carb's and pontiac motors, let alone old muscle cars.

I own a 684 RWHP 03 cobra that I have spared no expense on. so i'm not looking for major power or anything. I've been browsing the yearone group.

the motor has never been turned, in fact the plugs are still painted.

photo.JPG- Photo

I have more photo's since I pulled all the interior out and cleaned out the inside a bit. there is some rust on the floor boards and some very very small pinholes....but I believe I can cut the sheet metal out and weld in a plate. it has drums all around, I intend to replace that with a power disc front brake kit from year one by SSBC. should help it stop before she is even running. I have also gotten a wiring harness from painless performance.

let me say that this car will not be returned to factory, there was alot of damage done to factory components like the factory gauges, center console, and all of the interior was changed. although the interior did clean up really nicely, the red and black looks retarded to me. the car used to be blue. the car will need some paint although for the most part minus the hood being dinged and needing to replace the front end, everything appears to be in good order body wise. some very very minor surface rust behind the drivers side rear tire, but nothing a good sandblaster and a good paint job won't take care of.