starting body work - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-28-2010, 02:37 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
starting body work

started blocking the epoxy primer down today, the stuff is like ceramic,I am cutting it down with 80 grit and taking the peel out of it and exposing any low spots, scraping them with a thin coat of filler and sanding down to 120 grit before surfacing primer, plan is two more sand and prime coats before base coat. Question is, what should my final sand be before final primer coat?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-28-2010, 03:05 PM
64-67 Expert

Quoted: 117 Post(s)
I'm no expert, but when I did mine, my final before the prime coat was 320-400 grit. One thing I found when blocking my '67 was that a very LONG longboard helped get the panels wave free. I used an 18 incher, but now there are even better ones out there. Long longboards really get down to business when doing these cars. Also, they have rounded foam forms at auto body supply houses to use around your wheel housing lips, etc. Have fun.
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-28-2010, 03:23 PM Thread Starter

thanks GeeTee, just picked up 18" board and roll of 150, have foam tube also, thats what i was thinking first block down to 150, second down to 220, final down to 320, color sand base at 400-600 before clear, no expert either, just don't have the cash for a 5000 paint job

post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-28-2010, 03:32 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
sounds like your on the right track.
check here for good info in there forum. How to Paint Your Own Car, Auto Body Discussion Forum and Videos | Learning how to paint your own car and general automotive restoration

1987 Buick Grand National
1969 SS 396 Camaro
post #5 of 35 (permalink) Old 12-28-2010, 03:35 PM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Instg8ter,