whats an average price for decent project car that still runs ok. - Pontiac GTO Forum
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-01-2008, 05:10 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
whats an average price for decent project car that still runs ok.

im having difficulty on how much i should spend because i am new at this so i need help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-01-2008, 05:19 PM
Former Super Moderator

Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Welcome to the forums.
The price your willing to pay should depend on the car itself. If it`s something you really want, then it`s worth paying more. Rarity also decided value, you`ll of course pay more for a Judge convertible project car then you will for a basic Le Mans post car. I`m kinda looking for a project car too and I have a 2,500-3,500 budget, been looking for awhile now with very little luck.
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-02-2008, 12:57 PM

It also has something to do with where you live. If you live in California, buy a car from some other state. There aren't any really good deals here, as a general rule. Find something in New Mexico or Arizona and rent a trailer from U-haul to pick it up.

A project car that runs okay in CA will cost you no less than $5k, I'd guess. Similar car in New Mexico will save you maybe $1000.

...at least, that has been my observation.

post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-02-2008, 01:23 PM

Parts car

I agree with 5Hundo. When I was looking, I found better deals in Texas and Arizona. The only problem you might run into is the title if there is one. It could be difficult transferring ownership in another state. I found mine in California and they didn't have the title. I had to sit in the DMV for a while and transfer it there and then transfer it when I got home. It's different per state so I'd be prepared before you go.
Linda
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-02-2008, 07:27 PM Thread Starter