User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-20-2014, 06:04 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Where to start?

Hey fellas,

I "eventually" want to a complete restomod of my 1969 GTO that includes an engine and trans swap from my '77 400-3 Speed to an LS1. I want pretty much everything to be modernized. However, being a college student I'm a little scarce on funds. So in the meantime is there something that I can do to get the ball moving? Something within the couple hundred dollar range that will help get to where I want my GTO to be?

I was thinking lights? From factory to LED or something? Or exhaust. I dunno even where to begin

Thanks guys
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 06-21-2014, 10:31 PM

Location: Gastonia, NC - Born & raised in Connecticut - 31 years
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 390 Post(s)
Garage
Well, you're in trouble. "Budget" somehow doesn't seem to come into play when working on old cars.

Where to start is having a "plan". Imagine where you want your car to be, then fill in what has to be done to get you there. Line up your prices to see what kind of budget you will be looking at.

What kind of condition is the car in? Are you driving it now or is it parked? Good body or rusty? Straight or damaged? Good frame or rusty? Good interior or ripped up? Drum brakes or disc? Power or manual brakes? Rebuilt front end & suspension or slap wore out?

Personally, I like to begin with a suspension rebuild - ball joints, upper & lower control arm bushings, springs, sway bar bushings, idler arm, pitman arm, drag link, tie rod ends, steering shaft rag joint. Then you have brakes - disc brake conversion if you haven't already, a good kit will include all you need -spindles,rotors,calipers,bearings,backing plates,hoses,bearing caps,bolts, etc..