Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Premium Member
679 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I just used dragy and did my first 0-60 run. Needless to say, the launch was less than ideal, but the car is clearly underpowered. I will post the data shortly, but 0-60 mph was 7.6 seconds. I was hoping for 5.x....I have a bit of work to do.....

·
Registered
85 Posts
I love your post! So total newb question, when I floor my goat, and after I finally get traction, it seems like it downshifts, but I watch the RPM go over 4,000 and I'm worried it will not shift into the next gear, likely resulting in an explosion of what was once my beautiful engine, so I let off on the gas. Is there a trick here, should i be letting up on the gas to let it shift? Ok, maybe I made 4,500 once.

·
Premium Member
679 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I love your post! So total newb question, when I floor my goat, and after I finally get traction, it seems like it downshifts, but I watch the RPM go over 4,000 and I'm worried it will not shift into the next gear, likely resulting in an explosion of what was once my beautiful engine, so I let off on the gas. Is there a trick here, should i be letting up on the gas to let it shift? Ok, maybe I made 4,500 once.
Well my car is a 4 speed manual and I am shifting at ~5000 - 5500 rpm. Your automatic should go above 4500 before shifting if you are going WOT.

·
Registered
640 Posts
The governor of your auto trans can be modified to shift higher or lower. My trans guy rigged his last bracket car to shift about 5200, if I remember correctly. He just launched in drive, & let the trans shift itself.

https://www.hotrod.com/articles/hppp-1203-recalibrating-turbo-400/

https://www.jegs.com/i/JEGS/555/62070/10002/-1

A healthy 400 should be plenty safe to 5500. But, most smaller cams don't make good power to 5500.