Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here. Before blasting, I did do a search before asking this.

I have a 2006 GTO and am looking to buy a '67 with no motor but with 4 speed trans as a companion car. I'd love to put a 2005-2006 GTO LS2 in the '67. Has anyone here done it and how easy/difficult is it? Would also consider putting the modern A4 or M6 trans in the older car as well. Anyone done that? Idea is for totally stock look with modern real GTO running gear. Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
61 Posts
It's been done, not just in GTO's but in other A body cars like Chevelle. It's not hard at all as long as you have some general mechanic skills. They actually make everything you need in aftermarket kits. I think Edelbrock makes one. I'd go with a 4L60 or 4L80 transmission though.

·
64-67 Expert
8,561 Posts
Mikesan, I have to ask, how many miles have you driven/ridden in a vintage GTO? The reason I ask is that it seems that the people who want to do the most extensive mods and install modern powertrains are the people who've never really spent much if any time behind the wheel of a '64-'74 GTO. No offense is intended...I'm just curious. But now I'm wondering how slick a Hyabusa motor would look in a '53 Harley...........Thanks........
Jeff

·
Registered
2,609 Posts
But now I'm wondering how slick a Hyabusa motor would look in a '53 Harley...........Thanks........
Jeff
Hardly the same thing.......:confused

·
Registered
686 Posts
OK here is the deal. I am from the mid to late 80's in high school, and when I became a true gear head. This is when EFI was born, and every one wanted to put in L98 tune ports, in every muscle car alive. At least the younger guys. Why, because it was new and cool, plus not every car had them. Yes there are many LS series engines out there in the used world now. So supply and price is where it needs to be.