Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ordered new 1/4 panel extension seals (old ones are incorrect and protrude above the surface). From previous threads, it looks like I'll need to lower the bumper, remove the tail panel trim.
Also will be installing new bezels. Any suggestions on getting the seals installed properly? Or anything else in this process? Any "might as wells" ?

·
Premium Member
633 Posts
I just went through this on my '65 sports coupe. the seals that ames has I have a problem with. they are lengths of chanelled rubber strips that look like crap on the car, don't make the bends , and place the extentions so far back from the panel you can barely start the speed nuts on the studs. they claim "they are stock". im no expert, but ive been a gto lover since the mid '70s. ive NEVER seen a '65 gto with these gaskets. I threw them away n used a THIN line of black silicone sealer. what a nightmare I went through with these gaskets. they are just like the gaskets for the front headlight bezels, that mount fine on the car. ?????

·
Registered
1,217 Posts
+1 on the gaskets from ames, usually high quality parts from these guys but these gaskets did NOT work out at all. I ended up firing them in the trash and used some black sikaflex. i do not think anyone makes the "correct" gasket for this part

·
Registered
156 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks guys, I bet that's what I have now that I want to replace. They are exactly the same as the headlights. I hope I get something better. Ordered off Ebay from Rubber the right way.

·
Registered
217 Posts