Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just picked 1964 GTO not running for 5 years. The distributor is missing so now searching for a restored replacement which has been difficult to find. The auto parts rep said to go with a new one and shop online for it. Well, there are so many options and different price ranges ( $50.00 to $490.00) that I have no idea what to chose. My goal is just to get it running and cruise PCH with family. Note, I am a newbie to the classic car world. I've narrowed it down to these three options. Any help suggestions, recommendations would be appreciated.

Original Parts Group offered the MSD (RED) Ready to Run (I wanted BLUE or BLACK, not RED) $490.00
EBAY - Petronix (Big Cap, BLUE) $260.00
HEI Performance DUI TRI Power (Big Cap, BLACK) $230.00

Thank you in advance.

JC

·
Registered
1,453 Posts
Welcome ....
this is a bit of a touchy conversation ....
a few things come to mind ....
are you wanting a stock look ,,,,say matching numbers,,,, look
thru 66 the distributor bodys were cast iron and had a n aluminum tag around the middle with build date and part number
often missing,,
adding an after market HEI distributor will require a little wiring update ,,, and be the most dependable,,,
order the hei wiring kit from LECTRIC LIMITED .... gap your plugs at 42
tripower has interferance issue with large cap HEI
daves dui small cap distributors are great ... he used to special tune em for your applicationalso..

Scott

·
Registered
5,257 Posts