Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 20 of 239 Posts

·
Registered
175 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,

I've been reading this forum for a while and have really enjoyed many of the threads and thought today would be a good day to join. Today I drove my 1964 Tempest for the last time, took some pictures and pulled it into the barn. I've been holding off and planning this project for decades and have finally completed college and have a job to support such an undertaking. The car, admittedly has seen better days. I've been driving it in the summertime to shows/cruises for the past seven years dreaming of one day having a shiny car.

My dad bought the car in the early 1980's in Pennsylvania. It came originally equipped as follows:

Model: 1964 Pontiac Tempest Custom
Body: Post Coupe (2dr)
Engine: 326 CI
Carb: 2 barrel Rochester
Trans: 4-speed Muncie
Shifter: Hurst 4-speed on the floor (bench seat shifter)
Rear End: 3:23 Posi
Ext. Color: Marimba Red
Int. Color: Maroon

The car before pulling it into the garage for the final time.

I've got some work to do....

New trunk floors and quarters, inner and outer fenders will be needed:

Phase: 1 disassembly, media blasting and body work on the front clip.

Parts Ready for media blasting tomorrow:

After a few hours of work:

Anyways, thats probably enough for a first post. I'll share more as the days go on. I'm really going to town on this project, I want to drive the car to a show in nine months. I'll have to make some compromises on parts that can be easily replaced or switched once it it finished, but I want the frame and body complete.

Any comments or help along the way will be greatly appreciated!

-Carl

·
Registered
212 Posts
Was that car originally with rocker panel moldings but without the wheel well moldings like that? I assume you are keeping it original as a custom Tempest. If so, I applaud you for not making another GTO clone.