Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
looking to buy a 65' Conv. I am new to Pontiacs and would like some opinions from you guy's who have experience

I am trying to decide which is the best GTO for the money both are 65's with PHS docs

1) never completely restored but no rust. currently red, black top & interior ( not original color). non matching tri-power 4 speed car. PHS confirmed tri-power 3 speed car updated to 4 speed, has power steering & brakes, good driver quality. 1-10 scale probably a 6-7 $39,000 needs nothing. get in & go

2) frame off restoration in 2006. correct blue mist slate with correct color interior & white top. was original a 4 barrel, powerglide car now converted to Butler built tri power ( is a code correct YR motor) with turbo 350. power steering. power brakes, factory air. Also has factory AM & FM radio, tilt wheel. This one has been sitting for almost 4 years & needs some electrical & power steering work. est. $2500. 1-10 scale this one is a 9. $41,000. will probably be $43-44k total with repairs

1 or 2 for the money? best investment long term?

Thanks for you time & opinions

·
Premium Member
210 Posts
Hate to break it down to a miserable question. But where do you live. I live off the coast so not having ac is not a problem. But I grew up in michigan and it would be miserable in july and aug without ac. So if your in a northern state where snow and rain is around 6 months then 4 months are hot and humid and have no ac go with the convertible. So you can enjoy it. You asked whats a better investment. My opinion what ever youll enjoy the most. But on hot days I dont even take mine out just too darn uncomfortable but have a ywar round driving climate.

·
Registered
9 Posts
I would try to get the 1st convert at a better price.
First of all, congratulations on being in such a "tough" $pot! (Grin!)

Second of all, and as little as I know, I gotta say Rukee pretty much nailed it.