Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello guys n gals. Sooo, here goes. 1965 needing total frame off. Numbers matching. True "P" code car. PHS. It appears very original. Tags on carb rear and tranny. Someone got the car and painted it black. Most likely because Iris Mist wasn't cool. A bit of rust on inner rear wheel wells and lower front fenders. Most likely some on lower rear quarters. Floors are good. Seats are great.

So I am planning on making this a driver. The only non stock items would be front disc, and some engine internals. I would like to put a 65 WT 389 in it and keep the original wrapped up. I am in well over my head, but plan on moving slow. Taking lots of video on my ipad before I disassemble stuff. I am not a mechanic and have never done a restoration, so it's gonna be an interesting journey. Garage is small so space management is crucial.

Attachments

·
Registered
6 Posts
Good luck with it. I myself love the Iris Mist color, should be a nice looking car. If you are not gong to use the original 389 then the world is your oyster regarding other engines, why the 65 WT specifically? Is it a manual trans car?

·
Registered
4,659 Posts
Nice project. Another vote for Iris Mist. Had a '67 conv. special paint code Iris Mist and someone did not like it either, painted it a dark blue.

Plenty of help and information here to assist in your rebuild. Just take it a step at a time. Taking a lot of disassembly pics and bagging/labeling parts is the way to go. Do not set a time frame for completion and have a basic budget, but know that it always goes over.

Should be fun.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Yes, its 4 speed wide ratio. 3.23 rear end. WT is not a must have. If one come up for a reasonable price I would get it. Otherwise, i'm pretty open. Some interesting stuff comes through ebay once in a while.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #5