Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys im new to the forum,

I just bought this GTO and I want to know if it has all the original parts, I can see the interior is in prestine condition, but few things doesnt seem right, Like the wheels or hub caps, and there is a symbol in the keylock, like two leafs I think they put that one on it, It has the his and hers option, and I think its a 400 HO engine, But im new at this stuff:banghead:

Here are some pics of the car let me know your comments, I want to restore it to original

Thank you!!!:thumbsup:

Attachments

·
Premium Member
662 Posts
Welcome. Nice car. No those wheels are not original. I think you are going to have some fun with this project. Regards, Matt

·
Registered
659 Posts
If it's a 67 GTO the VIN will begin with 242. The engine block will have the same number stamped vertically on the front on the block to the left of the water pump. The date code and block casting code are at the back near the distributor.

Attachments

·
Registered
4,219 Posts
Nice find. Straight out of the '80s -speakers cut into the door panels! LOL

The rims may be original Rally I's with those what looks like tri-bar centers. If Rally I's, kinda rare.

Your heads should be "670" cast on the center exhaust port of the head.

You can order the original build sheet for your car through PHS and it will give you a lot of details about your car.

·
Registered
3,931 Posts
Welcome to the forum, the best way to find out what it was "born with" is to order the PHS documents on it. I'll bet it was a vinyl top car as it still has the roof pillar trim on it. The crest around the locks needs to be removed ASAP, Peel and stick dress up, other than that it looks like a pretty solid foundation.

·
Registered
217 Posts