Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, car arrived two weeks ago. Much better than expected since it's ebay purchase.

All original car. Never touched except few rattle can touch up's. lol
Engine is out, disassembled and in machine shop. Plan is to go 20 over with cylinders, 4bbl intake and carb, disc brakes, manual trans etc.
Parts are already here so I,m waiting for machine shop guys to be done. I have big pile of everything new around engine.
Few patch panels, couple of dents and car will go, probably, dark metallic green. It'll be fun project so stick around.
Oh yeah, and I'm doing everything myself since I build hot rods for a living.

·
Premium Member
809 Posts
Looks very nice, a great project car. If you built rods for a living, this should be an easy, fun project. I assume your LeMans has a Pontiac 350 that you will be rebuilding. Are you going with a 4-speed or something with O/D?

Keep us posted on your project, pics are always appreciated!!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Engine is original 326 with original powerglide. Machine shop guy called me with great news that everything will clear with .20 over.
You have a point Pinion head. I looked up online and I couldn't find .20 over pistons. I did look for 10min lol

·
Registered
190 Posts
Engine is original 326 with original powerglide.

This helpful tip may or may not be relevant for your build.

The two-speed transmission in your car is not a powerglide, it is a Super Turbine 300 (ST300).

Completely different unit. It's actually a quite nice unit. You might be surprised how well the cars run and drive with only a two speed transmission.

Good luck with your build, keep us updated with pictures!

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #6