Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, This is my first time posting.

I am in the process of restoring my 65 gto, and am going to make it my daily driver. I changed the 4 bbl over to a Tri-power set up and put the ram air pan and foam surround on it. The stock hood that I bought already had the scoop cut out to allow for the ram air.

My question is, has anyone had a problem with driving the car in the rain with the scoop cut out? From the look of it, in a heavy rain you would have water hitting the front air filter. I live in Florida, and in the summer it rains here everyday in the afternoon like clockwork. It would suck to get stuck on the side of the interstate with a soggy air filter.

thanks

·
Registered
65 Posts
You will definitely have issues then. It will basically suck the water right ii. There is even an interview on youtube (Army work computer won’t let me imbed it) with Jim Wangers talking about the Royal Bobcat package. He explains how it works, what it was, etc…and he specifically mentions “you wouldn’t wanna drive the car in the rain” and laughs. One thing you could do, which wouldn’t be particularly stock for 65’ is to install the pull tab like a 70’ GTO had. It’s a knob under the dash that said RAM AIR. When you pulled it, it opened flaps in the scoop letting the air get “rammed in”. Or you could leave them closed if you were driving around Plant City, FL in a rainstorm. On a stock 65' with the kit you were just "ramming air" all of the time.

I have a 65’ myself (you can see it in the Garage tab under my avatar” and I am thinking of putting a Ram Air kit on mine. However, I am stationed in El Paso (Fort Bliss) and won’t be using it as my daily driver, nor driving it the 2 days a year it rains there. Others opinions may vary.

·
Registered
659 Posts
Um three things. You do realize that "Ram air" was not installed on GTO's prior to 1968.