Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, I am brand new to GTO's and haven't worked on engines since my 65 rambler. I bought a 67 GTO 2 weeks ago with 21K original miles.Gorgeous car. I like just looking at it. The engine has been re-built and ran fantastic when I bought it on 10-17. Very strong. I drove it around gingerly for 3 days. On Thursday after filling the tank with 93 octane it started to run rough after a few miles (it had 93 in it from when I bought it) and a few minutes later the engine started to bog when I hit the accelerator. I managed to get it off the road where it stalled. I could start it with great difficulty but it ran very rough, and would stall on its own after 30 seconds but it would stall immediately if I tried to put it in gear. I had to have it towed home.

Engines don't run because of spark or fuel, right? Fuel: I checked the two filters. The one actually in the carb is clean as a whistle. I then cranked the engine with the coil wire off while inserting the fuel line AFTER the first filter into a clear jug. It pumped a quart of fuel in a dozen revolutions. The gas looks competely pure. No water, particles, nothing. I can get the car to run for about 60 seconds so it's getting spark. Since the car has only been driven a few miles in the last two years I reasoned the new fuels had done a number on the carb so I had it rebuilt. It is a Rochester 750 cfm 4 barrell. I installed it last night but it did not help.

The specific symptoms are: After a 2-3 times cranking it the engine will start and run VERY rough at idle. If I do nothing it will stalll in less than a minute. If I try to throttle it up it bogs down and beings to stall....it does not rev up. If I let go of the throttle it remains at a very rough idle and again, will stall in 30 more seconds. Last night I heard a deep engine knock a few times while trying to throttle it up. I gave up.

I have a video of it here: