Pontiac GTO Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am considering a 67 GTO Convertible with 400 and 4 speed. The seller believes all the numbers match, but I would like to verify before I purchase. Where exactly on the engine is the serial number? And, which number on the Data Tag should it match? Is the trans labeled similarly? I found a number on the trans, but not sure if it is a part number or a serial number. At the most basic level, when the term 'numbers matching' comes up, is that implying the engine and the chassis only it does it include more components?

Last question -- I understand there were 9,512 67 GTO convertibles made, but how many with a 4 speed? Are there any details on the number of vehicles made by color/trans?

Sorry for the extremely basic questions, but this is my first attempt to own a classic car and the 67 GTO had been my dream car since I was a kid. I do not want to make a mistake and buy it purely on emotion, but I want to use logic and buy it intelligently.

·
Registered
1,109 Posts
welcome
you have a big learning curve coming
if the seller is proudof it being matching numbers he should be supplying pictures to verify
motor vin is on the passenger side of the block beside the timing cover below and behind the lower radiator hose
but I dont think 67's were stamped ,,,, my early YZ 68 built in 67 isnt stamped my later 68 WS built in march 68 is stamped
the date for the muncie is usually on the passenger side of the tranny behind that big casting number you probably saw
its running vertical ..next to the mid plate. like mine in the picture
again more than likely no vin stamp if it a 67... just the date
matching numbers tell the seller to send picture proof

Attachments

·
Registered
4,543 Posts